Lexington Medical Society Foundation

Link to 2018 LMS Foundation Grant Request Form (due no later than January 26, 2018)

The Lexington Medical Society Foundation is a non-profit corporation (501-c-3) established in 1964 with the funds left over as a result of the mass polio immunization program carried out in this community. Today, most of the income for these project is produced from the Medical Society's golf tournament proceeds and from individual members of the Society.

Serving on the board of this foundation are 6 members of the Society, 6 lay persons and the presidents of the Society and the Alliance.
2017 Officers:

John W. Collins, M.D. President
David J. Bensema, M.D. Vice President
John G. Roth, M.D. Secretary
Dennis F. Joseph, CPA Treasurer

Donations to the LMS Foundation are tax-deductible as a charitable donation.

Lexington Medical Society Foundation seeks to help those who improve community health.

The Lexington Medical Society Foundation endeavors to improve the health of our community through support of Lexington-area, medically-related, non-profit organizations, medical school student scholarships, and physician leadership and wellness programs.

Grants Awarded
At its annual meeting on March 6th, 2017, the Foundation Board of Directors awarded grants, totaling over $25,000, to the following organizations:

  • Baby Health Service
  • Bluegrass Ovarian Cancer Support, Inc.
  • Camp Horsin' Around
  • Radio Eye, Inc.
  • Children's Advocacy Center of the Bluegrass
  • Chrysalis House, Inc.
  • Faith Pharmacy
  • God's Pantry Food Bank
  • Institute for Compassion in Justice, Inc.
  • Kentucky Medical Association Alliance
  • Kidney Health Alliance of Kentucky
  • Lexington Medical Society - Physician Wellness Program
  • McDowell House Museum
  • Mission Lexington
  • Ronald McDonald House Charities of the Bluegrass
  • Safe Kids Fayette County
  • Surgery on Sunday